Lost – “LaFleur”

lostintranslation2

LaFleur

First, just let me say that so far season five has surpassed all my expectations. Have there been misfires? Sure, a couple, but the overall quality of this season is such that they’ve been of little consequence. LOST has risen to the challenge and delivered what I feel is the most intelligent and thought-provoking series to ever air on television.

Today’s column is a real challenge for me. There’s so many things I want to cover, but where to start? How about we get the geeky fanboy stuff out of the way first…

“My utterance is mighty, I am more powerful than the ghosts; may they have no power over me.”

The Egyptian Book of the Dead

Team Darlton are such teases. Via time jump we finally got a better glimpse of the four-toed statue, albeit from its backside. Still, I’ll take what I can get, and what I got was a continuation of the Egyptian motif that is imprinted on our little island. My first impression was that this was a statue of Anubis, the onetime major domo of the Egyptian underworld, at least until Osiris was dismembered and reassembled sans penis by his loving wife, Oh Mighty Isis.

Anubis was the gatekeeper, the Guardian of the veil of death and charged to protect souls as they journeyed there. In a very real sense Anubis served as the patron to lost souls and if ever there was an island in need of such patronage, it would be this one.

But our time challenged Losties’ visit with Anubis is short as their skipping record becomes righted and they land squarely on a Geronimo Jackson groove, circa 1974.

Saving a young Dharma maiden named Amy from the clutches of maurading Others, we are introduced to her late husband, the ankh-wearing Paul.

Just when we think Paul’s story is over, he becomes a bargaining chip later in the episode and this to me is the most intriguing mystery that the episode of LaFleur has served up.

“They’re ugly and they’re dirty and they’re dumb and I don’t even care if they’re  dead, they’re not touching me!”

Lucy in Return of the Living Dead, Part 2

I know, I know… I’m jumping around all over the place. But please, bear with me. What’s the single most important thing that happened in this episode?

Would you believe it was all about Paul?

In what was one of the best scenes ever in this entire series, Sawyer saunters up to Richard Alpert (and yes, I’m going to skip over the fact that Richard, or should I call him RA, first had a chat with Horace, or, in keeping with the Egyptian theme, would that be Horus?) and admits to being the one who killed two of his people.

So what does RA want for compensation for the death of his two cohorts?

He wants the body of Paul.

Why in the hell would Richard want a corpse unless there’s a reason that the dead are far from it on this island. It leads me to ponder that the Others, through their ties with Island Magic, this Egyptian theme park where the promise of undead immortality is more than wishful thinking, are mostly comprised of the undead.

We’ve seen it played out time and time again, from Christian to Yemi, Libby to Locke and so many more.

The dead don’t stay dead if the Island wills it.

Kind of makes one wonder if the “zombie season” jokes from Team Darlton don’t have a bit of truth to them. I don’t think we’ve seen the last of Paul. And therein lies LOST’s ultimate mystery I think…

“Who’s scruffy looking?”

Han Solo, Star Wars

All right, let’s end this thing on a high note, shall we? Who wasn’t completely moved by the brilliant performance of Josh Holloway in this episode?

Watching the evolution of James Ford aka Sawyer aka Jim LaFleur play out, especially if you plot it over the course of these five season, has been a real treat.

He is the consummate conman, a rogue and a scoundrel with a wee bit of gold in that heart of his… and in LaFleur we get to see him come into his own. He wears his Dharma skin with ease and seems to have found true happiness.

If you had told me beforehand that Sawyer and Juliet would be in a loving and caring relationship I would have laughed at you, but you know what? It works. Holloway and Mitchell sold it so beautifully, downplaying their performance and making it feel real and natural.

But in the end, this is LOST and there are seemingly no happy endings. A poignant heart to heart with Horace about love and whether or not three years is enough time to get over someone will be put to the test.

It was Jim LaFleur who greeted Jack and Hurley on the beach, but when his eyes met Kate’s there was a glint of Sawyer in there.

The soap opera continues… and as always, I’ll be there, glued to the screen for every painstaking minute.

Namaste in two weeks…

Leave a Reply

