Game of Thrones Returns

arya-the-hound

There are lots of sites posting recaps and reviews of Game of Thrones. This will not be one of them for the most part. It is a wonderful series, one of my favorite of all time. As a fan of the books I have come to the realization that this show is, quite frankly, an alternate universe, one that differs, sometimes subtly / sometimes drastically, from the source material.

I’m mostly okay with that.

I love the cast. I love the look and feel of the show. And I love the spirit in which it has been crafted.

I understand the limitations. I understand the need for changes. Sometimes those changes are out of necessity. Other times I’m left scratching my head.

Regardless, I love what I’m seeing and I’m through to the end.

As I said, I will not be recapping or reviewing Season 4, but I will be making a brief call out to something each episode. More often than not, it will be something positive.

For instance, the segment in last night’s premiere with Arya and The Hound.

Maisie Williams and Rory McCann stole the night. It was a scene with some humor, which I liked, and some extreme violence, which I loved. But there was also something heartfelt about it, played so marvelously by Ms. Williams. Just the look on her face as she crossed a name off her list. You could almost see her soul darken before our very eyes.

Special kudos go out to the composer, who kept the fight silent until Arya moved to action. When the drums kicked in and the music swelled, that was some exciting stuff, perfectly handled.

Can hardly wait for next week, as you can surely imagine.

The Purple Wedding is coming.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

