Defenders of the Faith?

thrills&chills

Slim pickings for me this week. I’m quickly losing interest in a lot of books. It’s not the medium, but more a feeling that these books aren’t being written for me anymore. Thankfully there are still some damn fine comics that keep the fire lit. I feel a blog/rant/meltdown coming on, but I will swallow it down (for now) and just get to the business at hand. Let’s take a look at what I picked up at the LCS —

From Dark Horse

Hellboy in Hell #3

From Marvel

All New X-Men #7
Avengers Assemble – Annual #1
The Fearless Defenders #1

Dropped or Dropping: All Avengers titles, Detective Comics

fearless-defenders

I’ve said it before, and it’s really important that I reiterate this — I am, unabashedly, a Cullen Bunn fan. That being said, I didn’t love The Fearless Defenders, but damn if I didn’t want to. Don’t get me wrong, Bunn has delivered a well written book. The concept alone borders on brilliant. I was less impressed with the overall look of the comic. Will Sliney’s art is merely serviceable. Sliney does shine in a few crucial scenes, but the artwork is uneven, with some panels simply jarring to the eye. Decent coloring from Veronica Gandini helps, but the lettering is simply atrocious, so artistically it’s a really mixed bag. In a visual medium, that’s not good. Not by a long shot.

Simply put, while a decent comic over all, it’s just not the book I was hoping for. It’s a little too tongue-in-cheek for my taste. I am a big fan of both Valkyrie and Misty Knight, but my interest in these characters stems from the time I spent with them in the 70’s. Nostalgia is a double-edged sword and I went into The Fearless Defenders hoping that I would get a chance to revisit old friends. Unfortunately, I just didn’t recognize them after all these years.

All that being said, I will be back for #2. I’m going to give this book and this creative team a shot. I see a lot of potential in Will Sliney’s artwork and want to watch him evolve. Plus, they’re headed for Asgardia. Like I’m not going to show up for that ride?

As for the other books I picked up this week — Hellboy in Hell is clicking on all cylinders. I’m a much bigger fan of Mike Mignola’s concepts than I am of him as an artist, but he has that Kirbyesque quality to put drama into every panel he draws, and that’s a pretty neat trick.

The Avengers Assemble Annual was a huge disappointment. Drawn by committee, this thing was an unmitigated trainwreck from cover to cover.

All-New X-Men, from Bendis, Marquez, and Garcia, is a beautiful book to look at and is one of my favorite titles right now. Seven issues in and this is the weakest thus far. Just too many continuity gaffs and too much exposition. As much as I hate to say it, a firmer editorial hand may be in order. I really dug how Bendis handles Mystique in this though. Wolverine, on the other hand, just felt like an after thought here and was totally out of character. What, he couldn’t smell Mystique? Hopefully this was just a little speed bump and next issue will see this book return to form.

So, that’s it for this week. See you back here in a mere 168 hours (give or take) for more of the same.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,953 other followers

