The Dream is Over

Kim and I sat through the Emmys last night and, despite an inspired opening number from Fallon and Company (including Jorge Garcia) doing a terrific send-up to a show I can’t stand (that would be Glee), the award show was mostly a trainwreck of epic proportions.

I don’t think it could have been less funny nor groan-inducing… Still, we marshaled on in support of LOST, but there was no love to be found for our favorite show.

No Emmy for Damon and Carlton. No Emmy for either Terry O’Quinn or Michael Emerson. No Emmy for Elizabeth Mitchell. No Emmy for Matthew Fox. No Emmy for Jack Bender. No Emmy for Michael Giacchino. No Emmy for Ab Aeterno. No Emmy for LOST itself.

The one bright note was the scoring of the coveted trophy for Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series (“The End”), given to Stephen Semel, Mark J. Goldman, Christopher Nelson and Henk Van Eeghen.

It’s not like I needed confirmation of LOST’s  greatness by their bringing home a dozen Emmys for their efforts, but I wanted it for the actors, writers, and directors. I had hoped that their peers would acknowledge what they had accomplished. Maybe they would have if Mad Men and Breaking Bad (two shows I’ve never seen) did not exist in the same universe as them.

Well LOST, it may not be an Emmy, but what you have won is my undying gratitude for giving me a wonderfully epic television series that will hold a special place in my heart for years to come.

Is this the end of LOST here at the Occult Detective? Not quite yet. I still plan to review the Season 6 DVD set and, who knows, maybe I’ll revisit the series again and mark the journey on this blog in the future.

In the end, LOST was everything I wanted it to be and then some.

Cheers.

4 Responses to “The Dream is Over”

  1. I’d be very interested in hearing your opinion of the final season’s special features. It’s going to be q a while before i can pick this set up and I’m really interested to learn if the special features actually do reveal more answers to things that went unanswered.

    • cairnwood Says:

      They do… somewhat. I guess it depends on what your questions are. Most of the “answers” revealed by The New Man in Charge are throw away lines. But things are addressed: the pregnancy issues, Walt, the polar bears. Nothing earthshattering, and certainly nothing I hadn’t already imagined for myself, but I liked the clip as a sort of visit with old friends. It would have had a lot more impact if I’d seen it a year from now or more.

      Admittedly, I teared up while watching the Crafting the Final Season bonus feature. You’ll understand why when you see it for yourself.

  2. Thanx for the info, I broke down and bought this so I’m looking forward to finding some time to dive right in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

