My Haunted Head

I’m still a bit gobsmacked over the LOST Finale, but as I promised myself, it’s now back to work. Here’s a quick rundown on what’s in the pipeline and what’s cued up…

Bring Out Your Dead

That Olde Black Magick is officially out of print. It has been pulled from the Bandersnatch Books catalog and it is now a thing of the past. But never say die. The stories in this occult detective collection have found new life. For starters, if you look over to the right you’ll see a category labeled Bob’s Free Fiction featuring four tales culled from TOBM’s pages.

The remaining stories, spotlighting Agents Selina Wolfe and Martin Crowe, have been integrated into Descendant, my forthcoming novel from Belfire Press.

Stoking the Fire

Descendant is slated for an August 2010 release. Edits are all but done now and artwork approved by Belfire’s High Priestess Jodi Lee and Editorial Sorceress Louise Bohmer. Descendant has been a game changing work for me, embracing my love for occult detective fiction, suspense driven procedurals, esoteric conspiracies, and the theory and practice of the magickal arts. To say that I’m excited to see Belfire’s release of this tale is an understatement of epic proportions.

Autumn Moon and the Book of Secrets has been tentatively tapped for a release in February 2011, again from Belfire Press. A novella length story with Young Adult sensibilities, Autumn Moon is a sort of “coming of age” fairy tale that has been near and dear to my heart for several years. What started as an online experiment, posted as a free-style blog serial back in 2004, is evolving into something a whole lot more. I’ve still a fair amount of tinkering to do with the work, but I’m extremely confident that, while it’s a departure from what many people expect from me, The Book of Secrets will both thrill and chill those who join Autumn on her journey of self-discovery.

Unfinished Tales

Here’s a quick rundown of a few stories that are in various stages of development:

Born Again, the sequel to Descendant featuring Agents Wolfe and Crowe, Tracy Larson, Michelle Hawkes, Landon Connors, and Father Rainey.

Apocalypse Road, the third Wolfe and Crowe novel.

The House Above Seven Pillars: An Indiana Nightstalkers Mystery is the first in a series of somewhat Young Adult stories centering on the Parker Brothers, Dale and Allen, and their friends Sarah Jones and Cassidy Martin as they investigate the paranormal in and around north central Indiana.

Discarded, a Landon Connors occult detective story.

By These Words Divided, a Father Rainey occult detective mystery.

Resurrection Island is a mystery wrapped in a riddle inside an enigma.

Howard’s End, a weird western featuring Coal McCain and his horse Wicked. A tale of redemption, retribution, and otherworldly revenge chock full of gunslinging, magic wielding adventure.

She Won’t Leave Me Alone, a ghost story of sorts that may or may not be a gothic/paranormal romance.

Templar Nights began as a comic book series about a cursed Templar Knight who passes himself off as a stage magician but is actively reacquiring the lost treasures of his Templar Brethren. Did I mention he’s also an ex-con? Throw in a current love interest who’s a private investigator, her grizzled old father who’s a retired cop, an ex-wife who’s an FBI Agent who specializes in art theft (and the one responsible for our hero’s incarceration), and an ancient enemy who’d like those treasures for himself. Yeah, I’m having trouble wrapping my head around this one too.

Skull and Bones, a sword and sorcery adventure on the high seas starring Konn, an ill-fated warrior from the north, and McBride, the red-tressed swordswoman with an unquenchable thirst for bloody revenge on those who killed her husband.

My Haunted Hometown, a non-fiction account of my investigations into the occult and paranormal in and around my old stomping grounds.

In Time’s Shadow, the third Cairnwood Manor novel. I’m constantly asked about this novel, the follow-up to 2006’s Keepers of the Dead. I’ve got to be honest, this one is on the back burner, primarily due to my own lack of motivation. Extremely proud of the characters I created for this series, sales have, admittedly, not inspired my confidence to continue with Cairnwood at this time. Could that change? Certainly, should sufficient interest be generated by publishers and fans alike. I can see a scenario where In Time’s Shadow is addressed through another series, or even as a serial posted on my blog. Stay tuned…

Now, if you’ll excuse me, after typing out that list I realize that I’ve got some serious work to get to. Hell, I didn’t even mention all the artwork demanding my attention…

3 Responses to “My Haunted Head”

  1. This has been such an awesome week for Belfire, Bob, and a big part of that was you. You and your work (artistic and in words) have inspired and excited us, reminding us again why we’re in this crazy profession. :)

    *bows*

  2. “Belfireā€™s High Priestess Jodi Lee and Editorial Sorceress Louise Bohmer. ”

    I like those titles. :-) Can’t say enough what a pleasure it’s been, dear sir. Jodi’s right–you remind us why we do this.

    Be well!

    Louise~

  3. [...] on twitter and facebook, my time has been very much in demand. As you may have surmised from an earlier blog entry, I have many stories in various stages of production and I’ve been bouncing between them and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

